2019-2020 Grant Recipients - Grants total nearly $10,000


Teachers seated L/R: Dana Mcknight, Krista Schmied, Megan Turillo, Cindy Bassett, and Tami Socie.


Standing: Superintendent Tim Saxton, Dawn Fleming, Dan Conway, Jenn Bennett, Gina Hammerton, Katie Becherer, Laura Frost, Casey Putko, Tim Harker, Eric Diefenderfer, BSFEE President Edie Davidson


(Teachers missing from photo: Justin Coffin, Dan Kibby, Karen Sutton)

bsfee winners 2019.jpg


This year we were able to fund eight (8) grants totaling nearly $10,000. The 2019 winners are:


1.    West Blvd (2nd) – Justin Coffin, Gina Hammerton, Dana McKnight, Karen Sutton

2.    Stadium Drive (3rd) – Casey Putko, Cindy Bassett

3.    BGJHS – Laura Frost

4.    BCIS – Megan Turillo

5.    BGJHS – Eric Diefenderfer, Tim Harker

6.    West Blvd (3rd) – Katie Becherer

7.    Stadium Drive (K) – Tamara Socie

8.    West Blvd (K) – Krista Schmied, Dan Kibby, Dawn Fleming, Jenn Bennett, Dan Conway

 “These projects all have great merit, but as school districts work to control costs, the funding can be a challenge,” said Superintendent Tim Saxton.  “That’s why the money raised by the Boardman Schools Fund for Educational Excellence and its partnership with the Boardman Education Association is so crucial, and appreciated!” Each project was capped at $1,500, but one project that collaborated between Center and Glenwood was doubled to reach students in both buildings. 

Boardman Education Associaton Representative, Jerry Turillo is shown presenting a check for $2000 to Edie Davidson, BSFEE President. The BSFEE began a partnership with the Boardman Education Assoc in 2013 to fund an additional $2000 in grants to teachers. This partnership has funded over $50,000 in equipment purchases to provide innovative teaching for our students.


The BSFEE welcomes three new board members for the 2019-20 school year: Tom Varley,  the Director of Human Resources at Compco Industries, Attorney Matt Gambrel, and Boardman Glenwood Jr. High Science teacher Scott Lenhart. 


New Officers 2019-2020
Lynda Beichner, new Board Member; Edie Davidson, President;  Meg Harris, Vice President; Annie Sofran, Secretary.
BSFEE Board Officers 2018-2019 Wix.jpg